So What Is News?…

We’ve been talking a lot about news and how social media and other platforms deliver news.  So, what is news to you?  How do you define news?  First, give me your own definition and then find someone else’s definition and write it down.  Make sure to give me the source or the author of the definition you will cite in your comment.

About Samir Husni

Samir Husni, aka Mr. Magazine™, is the founder and director of the Magazine Innovation Center at the University of Mississippi. He is also Professor and Hederman Lecturer of Journalism at the School of Journalism and New Media. Dr. Husni is the author of the annual Samir Husni's Guide to New Magazines, which is now in its 28th year. He is also the author of Launch Your Own Magazine: A Guide for Succeeding in Today's Marketplace published by Hamblett House, Inc. and Selling Content: The Step-by-Step Art of Packaging Your Own Magazine, published by Kendall Hunt, Magazine Publishing in the 21st Century, published by Kendall Hunt, and co-author of Design Your Own Magazine. He has presented seminars on trends in American magazines to the editorial, advertising and sales staff of the magazine groups of the Morris Communications Company, Hearst Corp., Hachette Filipacchi Magazines, Meredith Corp., Reader's Digest Magazine, ESPN the magazine, Sail Magazine, American Airlines Publishing, the National Geographic Society, the Swedish magazine group Bonnier, the Finnish magazine group Sanoma Magazines, Southern Progress magazines, New South Publishing, Inc., the Society of Professional Journalists, the American Society of Magazine Editors, Vance Publishing Corporation, the Florida Magazine Association, The Magazine Association of Georgia, the National Society of Black Journalists, the Japanese Magazine Publishers Association, and the American Press Institute. He is "the country's leading magazine expert," according to Forbes ASAP magazine, "the nation's leading authority on new magazines," according to min:media industry newsletter; and The Chicago Tribune dubbed him "the planet's leading expert on new magazines." Dr. Husni has been interviewed by major U.S. media on subjects related to the magazine industry. He has been profiled and is regularly quoted in The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, USA Today, The Chronicle of Higher Education, and many other newspapers nationwide, as well as the major newsweeklies and a host of trade publications. He has appeared on Good Morning America, CNBC, CNN, CNNFN, PBS, and on numerous radio talk shows including National Public Radio's Morning and Weekend Editions. Dr. Husni has also served as an expert witness in several lawsuits involving major media corporations including Time Inc. and American Express Publishing among others. He has been a judge of The National Magazines Awards, The Evangelical Magazines Association, The City and Regional Magazines Association, and The Florida and Georgia Magazine Association Awards. Dr. Husni is the President and CEO of Magazine Consulting & Research, a firm specializing in new magazine launches, repositioning of established magazines, and packaging publications for better sales and presentations. Dr. Husni holds a doctorate in journalism from the University of Missouri-Columbia and a master's degree in journalism from the University of North Texas. When he is not in his office reading magazines, Dr. Husni is at the newsstands buying magazines.
This entry was posted in Jour. 101. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to So What Is News?…

  1. Colton Herrington says:

    I definitely would have to say that news is what’s currently happening around me and is relevant to me. It is information that I either seek out for my personal interest or affects me, both directly and indirectly.

    The following is Jim Kerstetter’s, Business Week, view of what news is to him.
    “Well, they teach you in the first week of journalism school that news is change. It’s a hard thing to define. For us, it’s a really big change. Big changes at big companies. Industry trends. Global economic trends. We tend to think big because we have an international audience and pretty much have to. We’re not interested in “turn of the screw” kind of events. We’re interested when the screw snaps in half.”

    http://www.birnbachcom.com/news/definition_of_news.shtml

  2. Katie Krouse says:

    To me, news is anything that is happening right now in the world around me. I consider it relevant if it has anything to do with something I am interested in or could potentially affect or impact my life in some way. Georgetown University and Jack Fuller tell us, “News is the conglomeration of new facts and events that impact our lives. Most people rely on journalists to provide them with this up-to-date information about the world, making it the journalists’ responsibility to determine what is news. Then the media must help the audience master the data, ‘master it intellectually and emotionally by putting it in a context, a mosaic that help[s] make it seem somewhat less gratuitous and unpredictable, somewhat less frightening’ (Fuller 120).”

    http://www9.georgetown.edu/faculty/bassr/511/projects/letham/final/intro.htm

  3. Summer Wigley says:

    News is more than current events. News is a mass communication. News informs everyone about the same thing. News publicizes the latest gadgets, books, etc. News can come in every shape or form whether it is through a newspaper or a broadcasted television segment. (New)s is also exactly what it says, NEWs. It is a current situation that is broadcasted to others. Michael Oreskes, the Managing Editor for The New York Times, says, “News is what happens in the presence of an editor, and big news is what happens in the presence of an editor’s spouse…The blurring of news, entertainment, advertising, and marketing means that drawing the lines is more important than ever…In putting our work together we are conscious of our need to build an audience. That means our work has to be both valuable to people and interesting.”

    http://www.birnbachcom.com/news/definition_of_news.shtml

  4. Patrick Thompson says:

    I define news as information that is new and relevant to something that I am interested in. It keeps me informed of what is going on around the world or in my own community and it keeps me interested in what I am reading.

    Tom Bettag from Nieman Reports said “When I first heard the question “What is news?” in journalism school, I was a bit shocked by the arrogance of the answer. “News is what I say it is.” That’s the way it was in the old school. The old pros who said it, meant it. News is what we say it is. They spoke as members of the journalism profession, which was to them almost the priesthood”

    http://www.nieman.harvard.edu/reports/article/100291/Evolving-Definitions-of-News.aspx

  5. Laura Reed says:

    To me, news consists of current events that are relevant to me, and also current events that are relevant to our nation. These news casts help us understand what’s going on around us, yet they seem to promote fear and heinous crimes. What makes a news event national? In an article on Gather.com, a person asked, “Why should I have to hear about a mother somewhere far from me, who has killed her children and herself?” I think that news consists of many events strung together for interest groups. Although news creates a sort of paranoia within citizens, it informs them of both current events and danger. People want to know everything, because people are curious. News is a series of local events and national events being portrayed to the audience in a timely manner.

    http://www.gather.com/viewArticle.action?articleId=281474977298510

  6. Taylor Walters says:

    I believe there is a difference between information and news. News to me is learning things that I would never know about if I had not read it or listened to it. To me the news sources that inform me of relevant topics regarding my looks or friends such as Facebook, Teen Magazine, or Twitter, only report information that I have seen before written in a different way. An interesting perspective I found on news was “What you see is news, what you know is background, what you feel is opinion.” This quote by American journalist, Lester Markel clarified the mixed emotions I feel towards news media.

    http://www.thenewsmanual.net/Resources/what_is_news_00.htm

  7. Herbie May says:

    News is what you want it to be in my opinion. News should not just affect you but move you. Your own personal definition of news can change over time. I remember the day that plane crashed into the World Trade Center on 9/11. I was at recess and I was the king of our four square game until my teacher walked out and told me my mom was here to pick me up early. Little did I know what was happening, nor did I care because my mind could not wrap around that type of news at the time. I sat and watched what was happening with my mom for about an hour until my mind traveled elsewhere in bordum from the news. Like I said, news is what you personally make it. It should affect your mind, attitude, and personality. Now at the age of 19 alot affects me. The fiscal cliff, Ray Lewis retireing, the NHL barganing agreement, and the Sandy hurricane all affect me in different ways then they would have when I was 10 years old on the blacktop at recess.

    This is the expansion of the freedom of Information act that Congress passed a few years ago:

    The term ‘a representative of the news media’ means any person or entity that gathers information of potential interest to a segment of the public, uses its editorial skills to turn the raw materials into a distinct work, and distributes that work to an audience. In this clause, the term ‘news’ means information that is about current events or that would be of current interest to the public. Examples of news-media entities are television or radio stations broadcasting to the public at large and publishers of periodicals (but only if such entities qualify as disseminators of ‘news’) who make their products available for purchase by or subscription by or free distribution to the general public. These examples are not all-inclusive. Moreover, as methods of news delivery evolve (for example, the adoption of the electronic dissemination of newspapers through telecommunications services), such alternative media shall be considered to be news-media entities. ”

    http://www.citmedialaw.org/blog/2007/congress-passes-foia-reform-bill-expands-definition-news-media

  8. Jennifer Thurman says:

    News could mean multiple things to different people. To me, news is any update, story, or event that is happening anywhere around the world. It is the current event that is taking place whether it relates to me or not. We use news to keep ourselves informed about information or events that have happened in our town, state, country, or even world. Collinsdictionary.com describes news as current events that are important or interesting that just happened. On the other hand I don’t agree with this statement. I wouldn’t say all news is necessarily interesting, that is a matter of opinion.

    http://www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/news

  9. Robert Phillips says:

    I would define news as all information that pertains to my life, whether that information is pertinent at a local level, national level, or international level. If something will have a significant impact on my life, or is of interest to me, it falls under my definition of news.

    Oxford Dictionary defines news as: newly received or noteworthy information, especially about recent events.
    http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/news

  10. I feel a basic and broad definition of news is all the current events taking place in the world. I am exposed to the news around me and my interests more often than any other news, but news not in my field of interest is not any less important. News is always relevant to at least one individual or it would not be considered news.
    Miranda Cain of the website Newbie Wrtiers sheds her thoughts on news “Call me a news purist but I think the news is something sacred and important to people’s knowledge and life choices.”

    http://www.newbiewriters.com/2012/11/01/what-is-news/

  11. Ali Corbin says:

    I define the news as relevant and important actions and information going on in the world, and that are so significant they must be told to the public. The information has to be notable in order for it to be considered news and vital to the people. In comparison, the Oxford Dictionary definition if the news is, “Newly received or noteworthy information, especially recent events” (Oxford Dictionaries).

    Oxford Dictionaries n.pag. Oxford University Press. Web. 7 Jan 2013. .

  12. McKenzie Griffin says:

    “News” to me is any information or event that is relevant and current. Merriam- Webster defines “news” as i) a report of recent events ii) previously unknown information, and iii) something having a specified influence or effect. News to me is receiving information that has some impact on my life or the lives around me. This could be from CNN/Fox reporting the shooting in Sandy Hook or from E! News keeping me updated on Kim Kardashian’s pregnancy. The more recent the information is provided, the more I am likely to consider it “news.”
    Webster, Noah. “News.” Def. 1-3. New Collegiate Dictionary. A Merriam-Webster. 1953. Print.

  13. Chloie Johnson says:

    I would define news as any information or event that is current, relevant to myself, or sparks my interests. News is the information that I either look for, for personal reasons, or the information that I find intriguing enough to spend time listening or reading about.

    In the American Journalist, Kurt Loder defined news as “anything that’s interesting, that relates to what’s happening in the world, what’s happening in areas of the culture that would be of interest to your audience.”

  14. Daisy Strudwick says:

    I think that the term ‘news’ no only encompasses important political and social events throughout the world, but also events that are more relevant to me as an individual, such as a basketball score or a recent celebrity breakup. There is a clear distinction between world news and news that is important to me because sometimes I am not entirely interested in the European economy. According to Merriam-Webster, ‘news’ is defined as “a report of recent events” or “matter that is newsworthy”. These two definitions show that there is a difference between just what is reported in a newspaper and what is newsworthy to a person.

    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/news

  15. Kelly Litzelfelner says:

    To me, news is events relevant to the public. It must be interesting and people should want to read and learn more about it. Factors such as uniqueness, timeliness, prominence, proximity and conflict determine whether or not something is news. However, the idea of what news is varies from person to person based on people’s personal interests.
    The Oxford Dictionaries defines news as “newly received or noteworthy information, especially about recent events”
    http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/news

  16. Christina Figg says:

    The Marriam-Webster dictionary defines news as “a report of recent events, matter that is newsworthy.” When defining news on my own, the first thing that came to mind was that it is the most recent stories that intrigue and spark the interest of the general public. To me, news includes stories about events that impact large groups of people, such as war, natural disasters, and politics. News is offered to everyone so individuals can be aware of what is occurring in their local communities, nationwide, and even worldwide.

  17. Jordan Mckeever says:

    To me, news is defined as important information being shared about a topic unknown to its readers/viewers. Stories worth sharing and writing about qualify as news to me. Most people are most interested in news that are linked to their lives in a way, such as shootings in their cities, the Presidential elections, or their favorite football team winning the Super Bowl. These are all situations that can be headline-worthy nation wide, and be important in a small town. Dictionary.com describes it as a person, thing, or event considered as a choice subject for journalistic treatment.

    http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/news

  18. Shea Gabrielleschi says:

    For me, news is found on Twitter. That is where I go to discover the news. I check my Twitter feed every morning just as my parents wake up with the morning news on television. I define news as the announcement or explanation of an event that is worth sharing to the public. As long as the news is relevant to the public, it will always be news. Arthur MacEwen, an American editor, said, “News is anything that makes a reader say, `Gee Whiz’!” This statement still holds true. Anything worth sharing to a relevant audience is news worthy.

  19. Sydney Leaphart says:

    My personal definition of news is the transmission of information on current events through a source of media whether it be Twitter, Internet, Audio, or Cable. The current events can consist of both social, political, international, and local news. News is something everyone in society is influenced by or effected by in some way or fashion. Merriam-Webster defines news as “a report of recent events, previously unknown information, something having a specified influence or effect.” I definitely agree with Merriam-Webster’s definition I definitely think the news influences and effects people. For instance if I watch, read, or hear about a tragedy my mood and how I go about my day instantly changes.

  20. Sarah Ashton Baker says:

    News to me is broken into three areas. I like to know what is currently happening in my local area, the nation and the major event around the world. Granted I pay more attention to local and national news, but I still like to keep in touch with the major stories in other countries. News is what is relevant to me. I like knowing things about my favorite artists as well as current events. I enjoy things like the Today Show. It hits you with a little dose of everything.
    “A report of recent occurences; information of something that has lately taken place, or of something before unknown; fresh tindings; recent intelligence.” http://www.brainyquote.com/words/ne/news193991.html#seRjR6hy8FzG0DUw.99

  21. Sarah Ashton Baker says:

    Grammatical Fix! News to me is broken into three areas. I like to know what is currently happening in my local area, the nation and the major events around the world. Granted I pay more attention to local and national news, but I still like to keep in touch with the major stories in other countries. News is what is relevant to me. I like knowing things about my favorite artists as well as current events. I enjoy things like the Today Show. It hits you with a little dose of everything.
    “A report of recent occurences; information of something that has lately taken place, or of something before unknown; fresh tindings; recent intelligence.” http://www.brainyquote.com/words/ne/news193991.html#seRjR6hy8FzG0DUw.99

  22. Elliott Guffin says:

    I would define the word “news” as a means to learn about current events in the world. The news is very important to society because it allows everyday citizens to learn and be aware of political as well as social events occurring in the world. According to Collins Dictionary, the definition of news is “current events; important or interesting, recent happenings; information about such events, as in the mass media ,interesting or important information not previously known or realized ,a person, fashion, etc, widely reported in the mass media”

    http://www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/news

  23. jbbarnet says:

    While the city council election in Oxford might be news to me, other city council elections are not. International events often seem like they don’t impact us, such as the war in Syria and the war in Afghanistan. I believe they are news because international events do have implications in our lives, even if we don’t see the effects. Beyond what impacts me, our personal interests are also news. While the latest developments in the world of science may not impact me for years to come, I am fascinated with future science and therefore it is news to me.

    News is what a chap who doesn’t care much about anything wants to read. And it’s only news until he’s read it. After that it’s dead. -Evelyn Waugh

    http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/e/evelyn_waugh.html

  24. Isabel Maruri says:

    I define news as being the coverage of current events that are relevant to me. The relevance is important because if it doesn’t necessarily matter to me then I won’t read or watch it thus rendering it ineffective as news in my media sphere. However, because of the rapidly evolving technology, this definition of news wouldn’t have been applicable back in the days when there was only one news channel that only came on at one time. Back then, the news was the same for everybody. According to Tom Bettag, “News is what [he] says it is.”

    http://www.nieman.harvard.edu/reports/article/100291/Evolving-Definitions-of-News.aspx

  25. Catherine Montague says:

    The definition that first comes to mind when I think about news would be current events that are relevant in my life and that I am interested in. For instance, big news to me would be an event that could in someway affect my life. An example of this would be a major hurricane headed toward Houston, my hometown, which is expected to create significant damage to the city. Charles Dana, from the New York Sun years 1869-1897 defined news as “anything that interests a large part of the community and has never been brought to its attention before.”

    http://www.seagrant.umn.edu/downloads/theMedia.pdf

  26. Tessa Romack says:

    To me, news is any form of story about an event or occurrence that is happening anywhere around the world. I prefer news that is relevant to my life but as I grow older I am also coming to the understanding that it’s important to stay up to date with stories across the world so you don’t become uneducated and ignorant. I do not think the information has to be relevant to me to consider it news because even if it isn’t relevant to me it may be relevant to someone else. The Oxford Dictionaries defines news as: newly received or noteworthy information, especially about recent events.

    http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/news

  27. Ellen Whitaker says:

    Trying to define the line between information and news can be difficult. In my opinion, news is current events happening around the world. To be considered news, it needs to be impacting someone’s life. However, not necessarily mine. If something intriguing is happening in London, it is still considered news even if it does not personally affect me. Mark Twain once said, “News is history in its first and best form, its vivid fascinating form.” News is our first account of something occurring. It is our beginning knowledge of potentially historic events that could change or shape our world’s culture.

    http://www9.georgetown.edu/faculty/bassr/511/projects/letham/final/intro.htm

  28. Graham Wyman says:

    My view of news is taking important information to me and applying it. News to someone in England may not be news to me. In fact, news in Orlando, Florida could not be news to me. It is all about when it happened, who it happened to, etc. Proximity is also very important, or, where it happened. I care about what is happening in Oxford, Mississippi now. But I also care about what is going on in Atlanta, Georgia because it is where I am from.

    “News is the conglomeration of new facts and events that impact our lives. Most people rely on journalists to provide them with this up-to-date information about the world, making it the journalists’ responsibility to determine what is news. Then the media must help the audience master the data, “master it intellectually and emotionally by putting it in a context, a mosaic that help[s] make it seem somewhat less gratuitous and unpredictable, somewhat less frightening” (Fuller 120).”

    http://www9.georgetown.edu/faculty/bassr/511/projects/letham/final/intro.htm

  29. Bridge Leigh says:

    “News” encompasses more than just subject matter I find interesting or local goings-on; “news” is any information, minimal or in detail, that describes a current event. Although I may not be directly influenced by the current conflict in Israel and nor does it really interest me, I do enjoy being able to share what knowledge I have of the event should the need arise. My definition is in agreement with one provided by editor, reporter and graduate professor Jim Hall of Virginia Commonwealth University, in which he states that all information is not newsworthy. He defines news as a “change in the status quo,” determined to be worthy of publication by using seven factors: impact, proximity, timeliness, prominence, novelty, conflict, and audience.

  30. Meaghan Snell says:

    According to me the news is the current events that relate to my personal common interests and hobbies. For example, I am a huge football fan and get updates on my phone regularly for game scores, articles, recruiting or anything you could think of. Even most of my apps on my iPhone are Bleacher Report, ESPN and NFL ’12. Besides my addiction to sports I also see news including politics and our military involvements because they both personally involve me and the people in my family. Besides my main views of news others may just think it’s anything thats current and interesting to anyone anywhere. Like when Kurt Loder says, “Well, news is anything that’s interesting, that relates to what’s happening in the world, what’s happening in areas of the culture that would be of interest to your audience.”
    http://www.thenewsmanual.net/Resources/what_is_news_00.htm

  31. News to me is information that is relevant to my life at a relevant time. News to me is whatever issues and concerns and/or ongoing events of my peers and family members that are close to me. For instance whatever is going on and catches hold on to my attention and/or affects me on a personal level is always concerned news.
    According to fairtest.org, news is information given to a consumer that has elements of: immediacy, proximity, prominence, oddity, conflict, suspense, emotions, and consequence. With this being said news is different to everyone. So there for news is mainly about what “YOU” feel is relevant.

  32. Benjamin Bryan says:

    I think news is anything that is relevant to me, effects me, or may effect me in the future. However, I also believe news is any information on current events that are occurring locally or on a global scale that has a significant impact on anyone. Something that could be breaking news to me may not matter at all to another individual, vice versa, but I still consider this news. Oxford dictionary states news as “newly received or noteworthy information, especially about recent events.”

    http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/news?q=news

  33. Katie Whann says:

    The definition of news in my opinion is information that appeals and relates to my daily life and my interests. Although I do think that we should have access to national and international news to keep us informed, the most important news to me is what keeps me up to date on the topics that I am truly interested in. For instance, I usually go to two or three news websites a day to get my information because it is what interests me the most. On occasion, I will go to a website like CNN to read national news to stay up to date. The definition of news that I found is by the great American Publisher, Phillip L. Graham. He once stated that “[News is] a first rough draft of history”.

    http://www.barrypopik.com/index.php/new_york_city/entry/first_draft_of_history_journalism/

  34. Laura Lindsay Viergever says:

    Merriam Webster defines nes as, “a report of recent events
    b : previously unknown information
    c : something having a specified influence or effect ,” (http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/news). Personally, I think that news is something that you find important. News can be different for different people. The latest celebrity gossip is much more relevant and considered news for women than the latest information on high school football players’ decisions on where they are going to play college football. The important part of news is relevance and importance to that specific person. News is personal.

  35. Katie Adams says:

    While I do believe that news is anything that is happening right now, I think that in order for it to be news, there has to be a platform in which the news is broadcasted to the public. For example, in order for something to become news, it must be on television on a news station, or someone must post it on Facebook or Twitter, etc. I don’t think that something can be news unless it has been broadcasted for many people to see and hear.
    Joseph Pulitzer said on news, “Put it before them briefly so they will read it, clearly so they will appreciate it, picturesquely so they will remember it and, above all, accurately so they will be guided by its light.” I think this quote really sums up what news is and I think it focuses a lot on what we have talked about in class in terms of grabbing someone’s attention in the first minute.

    http://www.thenewsmanual.net/Resources/what_is_news_00.htm

  36. Parker Bergsagel says:

    To me, news is any new information. In paticular, events happening around the world recently. However, there is certain events that I do not find relevant or interesting, and therefore do not care for, but it is still news none the less. Content that may be news to me may not be news to my parents, and vice versa. If I do not find it relevant, why would I care to read it? The Free Dictionary defines news as “Information about recent events or happenings, especially as reported by newspapers, periodicals, radio, or television.”

    http://www.thefreedictionary.com/news

  37. Matt Mayfield says:

    News to me is anything that catches my attention that educates me about my surroundings. It has to interest me or I will skip over it. And as a 20 year old male, my TV stays on ESPN. Therefore, most of my urgent news updates consist of learning recovery times for orthopedic surgeries after injuries and such. I have a limited view of news, but I like it. And Jerry Seinfeld joked, “It’s amazing that the amount of news that happens in the world every day always just exactly fits the newspaper.” I contend that it fits exactly in the sports section.

    • Matt Mayfield (with Link) says:

      News to me is anything that catches my attention that educates me about my surroundings. It has to interest me or I will skip over it. And as a 20 year old male, my TV stays on ESPN. Therefore, most of my urgent news updates consist of learning recovery times for orthopedic surgeries after injuries and such. I have a limited view of news, but I like it. And Jerry Seinfeld joked, “It’s amazing that the amount of news that happens in the world every day always just exactly fits the newspaper.” I contend that it fits exactly in the sports section.

      http://www.squidoo.com/seinfeldquotes

  38. Lindsay Langston says:

    In my opinion, news is current events that are relevant and capture one’s attention, leading them to wanting to know more about the topic. News is what is important enough to be shared and crucial for the public knowledge. It is worthy of being spread. I believe that the concept of proximity and one’s location has a lot to do with the importance of the news at hand. When I am at school in Oxford, Mississippi, certain news is more crucial to me than it would be when I am at home in Dallas, Texas. The definition of news is different to everyone, for everyone thinks opposing events and instances are note-worthy. According to the American journalist, Kurt Lodger, news is, “anything that’s interesting, that relates to what’s happening in the world, what’s happening in areas of the culture that would be of interest to your audience.” I agree with this statement and that news is viewed differently according to the audience at hand.

    http://www.thenewsmanual.net/Resources/what_is_news_00.htm

  39. Martin Powell says:

    I define news as any event that strays from what the public considers to be a normality. This definition works because at a basic level, the status quo isn’t anything new, and therefore is not truly newsworthy. As far as I’m concerned, there has never been a headline that reads “Breaking: Everything Is Going According To Plan” or “This Just In: Nothing Has Changed”. In this age of infinite information, this definition helps delineate between what is and what isn’t important. The former Sunday Times Editor Harold Evans once defined news as “people talking and doing…[events] are only news because they affect and involve people.” These two definitions complement each other, as Evans’ definition demands the need for the integration of these events into the human experience, while my definition finds new’s importance in its own abnormality. It is within these unique human interactions that news is created.

    (source for quote: http://www.unison.org.uk/acrobat/B1871.pdf)

  40. Cidney Simmons says:

    News to me is information that I haven’t heard before. A phrase I utilize frequently is “well, that’s news to me”; this phrase represents things I hear from my friends or family. It is typically something, which holds no significance to anyone outside of my friend group, but means something to me. On a larger scale, news means information on events. According to Merriam-Webster Dictionary, news means, “a report of recent events; previously unknown information.” My definition agrees with theirs, and what I respect about this definition is that it doesn’t define where the news must come from.

    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/news

  41. News, to me, is defined as any important information about current events going on in our world today, whether it is in the local, national, and international area. News can be received through many different sources of media such as print, mobile devices, computers, tablets, and magazines. Tom Bettag, author of the article “Evolving Definitions of News,” explains that news comes with credibility and a credibility problem. With the many different media spectrums of news today, the definition of news is always evolving, according to Bettag. Here are some definitions, all forming an evolved and collaborated definition of news, that Bettag cites in his article, “News is what I say it is. News is what we say it is. News is what people say they want to know about” (Bettag).
    http://www.nieman.harvard.edu/reports/article/100291/Evolving-Definitions-of-News.aspx

Leave a Reply

