Major Trends in the World of News Media

Change Happens! The media world is changing right in front of our eyes.  From news on social media to news on traditional media, change is only constant.

For your discussion this weekend, pick up on area from the major trends we’ve talked about in class today and tell me why or why not you think this is the future of media.

Be creative, be specific and give a personal example if possible.

About Samir Husni

Samir Husni, aka Mr. Magazine™, is the founder and director of the Magazine Innovation Center at the University of Mississippi. He is also Professor and Hederman Lecturer of Journalism at the School of Journalism and New Media. Dr. Husni is the author of the annual Samir Husni's Guide to New Magazines, which is now in its 28th year. He is also the author of Launch Your Own Magazine: A Guide for Succeeding in Today's Marketplace published by Hamblett House, Inc. and Selling Content: The Step-by-Step Art of Packaging Your Own Magazine, published by Kendall Hunt, Magazine Publishing in the 21st Century, published by Kendall Hunt, and co-author of Design Your Own Magazine. He has presented seminars on trends in American magazines to the editorial, advertising and sales staff of the magazine groups of the Morris Communications Company, Hearst Corp., Hachette Filipacchi Magazines, Meredith Corp., Reader's Digest Magazine, ESPN the magazine, Sail Magazine, American Airlines Publishing, the National Geographic Society, the Swedish magazine group Bonnier, the Finnish magazine group Sanoma Magazines, Southern Progress magazines, New South Publishing, Inc., the Society of Professional Journalists, the American Society of Magazine Editors, Vance Publishing Corporation, the Florida Magazine Association, The Magazine Association of Georgia, the National Society of Black Journalists, the Japanese Magazine Publishers Association, and the American Press Institute. He is "the country's leading magazine expert," according to Forbes ASAP magazine, "the nation's leading authority on new magazines," according to min:media industry newsletter; and The Chicago Tribune dubbed him "the planet's leading expert on new magazines." Dr. Husni has been interviewed by major U.S. media on subjects related to the magazine industry. He has been profiled and is regularly quoted in The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, USA Today, The Chronicle of Higher Education, and many other newspapers nationwide, as well as the major newsweeklies and a host of trade publications. He has appeared on Good Morning America, CNBC, CNN, CNNFN, PBS, and on numerous radio talk shows including National Public Radio's Morning and Weekend Editions. Dr. Husni has also served as an expert witness in several lawsuits involving major media corporations including Time Inc. and American Express Publishing among others. He has been a judge of The National Magazines Awards, The Evangelical Magazines Association, The City and Regional Magazines Association, and The Florida and Georgia Magazine Association Awards. Dr. Husni is the President and CEO of Magazine Consulting & Research, a firm specializing in new magazine launches, repositioning of established magazines, and packaging publications for better sales and presentations. Dr. Husni holds a doctorate in journalism from the University of Missouri-Columbia and a master's degree in journalism from the University of North Texas. When he is not in his office reading magazines, Dr. Husni is at the newsstands buying magazines.
This entry was posted in Jour. 101. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Major Trends in the World of News Media

  1. Colton Herrington says:

    Newspapers moving to digital subscriptions is definitely something that I see in the future of the media and is a wise move for struggling print media. One of the obvious reasons is that they lose no credibility by the move. I would still trust the big newspapers, such as “The New York Times”, even in an online format. These names have many years under their belts as reliable sources and will lose no clout on the Internet. I know that I’m much more likely to visit news sites than watch the news, and I know when I do visit, I always choose the reliable sites.

  2. Joshua Barnett says:

    With a quarter of the population now gets their news on mobile devices and traffic increasing 9% to major newspaper websites from mobile users, I see mobile as the future of media. Lowering prices of smart phones and tablets will allow more people to be able to afford mobile devices that allow them access media wherever they are. I use an app called Pulse which allows me to browse multiple news outlets at once and find what articles interest me. I believe this kind of app will become more popular overtime and increase the convenience already offered by mobile devices.

    • Joshua Barnett says:

      Fixed for grammar errors-
      With a quarter of the population now getting their news on mobile devices and traffic increasing 9% to major newspaper websites from mobile users, I see mobile as the future of media. Lowering prices of smart phones and tablets will allow more people to be able to afford mobile devices that allow them access to media wherever they are. I use an app called which allows me to browse multiple news outlets at once and find what articles interest me. I believe this kind of app will become more popular overtime and increase the convenience already offered by mobile devices.

  3. Patrick Thompson says:

    With the invention of the smartphone and tablets, more and more people are turning to using these devices to obtain their news on a daily basis. From newspapers, to magazines, to watching video clips of news cast, publishers and networks are finding more interactive ways for them to get information. I, personally, like having some of my magazines come across my iPad because the publishers are adding more media into the magazines for you to try out. My Game Informer subscription adds videos and sound files for me to listen and picture galleries that allow me to see more of the content. It is the future of media because people are going to want to know what is going on as soon as it happens. This is why social media sites are so popular because people get information quicker.

  4. The mobile area of the major trends, that are changing the media world, which we talked about in class on Friday, is leading to a deeper experience with news than on a computer. I think news on mobile devices is the future of media because reading and watching news on mobile phones is faster and more convenient than reading and watching news on television networks and on print. With magazines, however, I enjoy reading printed copies. I think society will always enjoy having printed copies of magazines for many years to come.

  5. Katie Krouse says:

    I believe the future of media is headed in a direction where people will get the information they are looking for in the fastest way possible –online. The information will be most accessed through smartphone and tablet devices. For example, when something major happens and I want to read about it from a reliable source, I turn to online newspapers – I don’t wait for the print version to be distributed. I also use my iPhone to go online to watch live coverage, or read live streaming of current events and situations. I believe the future of media will be most easily accessed and delivered through the World Wide Web via smartphones and tablets.

  6. Summer Wigley says:

    I have noticed in myself that instead of turning on my television or picking up a newspaper, I always find myself opening my news channel app on my IPhone. It is not surprising to me that mobile news is becoming more popular. Society has become very fast pace and it is all about how instant something is available to us. Mobile apps aide in that. As far as some newspapers switching to only digital copies, it is not surprising either. I have to admit that it is easier for me, especially while on a trip,to digitally download a copy of my favorite magazine, but honestly nothing compares to actually holding the copy in my hands. It is a little scary about how fast everything around us is changing.

  7. Shea Gabrielleschi says:

    There are many important factors in media’s future, but it will always come down to money. The platform that is relevant to the relevant customer will always sell. I cannot remember the last time I watched news on TV except for a major news event. When the baby boomer generation starts to diminish, the traditional media platforms will suffer greatly. Without sufficient funding, the traditional news media outlets will die out. However, non-news-related media such as novels and entertainment magazines will continue to be printed. News outlets will change and adapt to the instant, up-to-date expectations of society.

  8. Laura Reed says:

    I think that in the future I will not have a newspaper delivered to my house. I know that I usually look for my news online. Even Apple has installed the “Newsstand” app that allows you to download newspapers and magazines in the app store. This new installment, to me, foreshadows the future of news media. Although I have not bought one magazine or newspaper on my phone yet, I am sure if I had an iPad I would give in and buy magazines. My dad reads the New York Times and the Dallas Morning News every Sunday, without fail. I just cannot see myself doing the same in the future unless it is digital and downloadable. I believe these news outlets are changing so fast and newspaper cannot survive on paper alone, for obvious reasons. Time is the biggest factor, to me, that determines why people are going digital.

  9. McKenzie Griffin says:

    State of the Media says that in 2012 social media is not overwhelming drivers of news. This statement almost discredits this annual report in my opinion. I mean social media was such a key factor in the uprising in the Middle East that one citizen even named his child “Facebook.” For a society that has a short attention span and has come to expect instant gratification, social media provides the ideal outlet for news. I prefer Twitter as a news source because the 170 word limit grabs my attention and the live feed keeps me updated by the minute.

  10. Graham Wyman says:

    I think that the way social media is expanding it is only going to expand more. The way it is on phones, tablets, etc. makes it extremely accessible at any time of the day with minimal effort needed. It is not just for Americans by any stretch of the imagination, this is worldwide and is probably more impacting in other places that are not as familiar with the change as us. We take a lot of it for granted but it is not taken for granted in other places. Social media has changed the way we view people and things. Twitter has a tab that updates you based on your interests, quickly. So I use twitter, often.

  11. Ashley Mallett says:

    Newspapers moving to digital subscriptions is something I see in the furture. This is because the major trend that I think is be of the future is the trend of news being viewed more on electronics (iPad , mobile devices and etc.) rather than traditional tv media. This is because it is so relevant for today’s society. In fact today’s generation is more mobile than every before.
    For instance, I myself update the news on my smart phone or my iPad. An example of a news story that I saw first on mobile media than traditional news media is the death of Whitney Houston. When I found out that she had past I rushed to twitter and found out the news to be true, and I had to wait till much later that night to hear it on the cable network news.

  12. Newspapers moving to digital subscriptions is some of the future. This major trend is one that I think is to be of the future because news is being viewed more on electronics (iPad , mobile devices and etc.) rather than traditional tv media. This is because it is so relevant for today’s society. In fact today’s generation is more mobile than every before.
    For instance, I myself update the news on my smart phone or my iPad. An example of a news story that I saw first on mobile media than traditional news media is the death of Whitney Houston. When I found out that she had past I rushed to twitter and found out the news to be true, and I had to wait till much later that night to hear it on the cable network news.

  13. Will Jenkins says:

    I believe that human beings are lazy in a sense that they will do whatever is most convenient. For this reason I believe tha mobile media is the future for media. With access to literally almost every source of printed media and television shows at the touch of your finger via iPad or iPhone, it is just too easy for people to acces the media in their mobile devices. I personally get all my news through my iPhone and iPad through apps such as Twitter, CNN, several other news apps. For instance, there is no need to wake up and turn on the T.V.to find out wether or not it is going to rain this afternoon, you simply roll over and pick your iPhone and hit The Weather Channel app and you’ll have the weather for the next ten days.

  14. Herbie May says:

    I think one of the most obvious and outstanding changes are the move from print media to digital media. I am personally okay with moving to a digital world. Like others have said, I barely even read the news anymore strait from the newspaper. I recently downloaded an app called “flipboard” which allows you to choose your categories of interest, so my articles of interest are presented to me daily on my smart phone. Digital media is the future and while people continue to face the reality of this century, there will be ere where print will all be relics. A perfect example is a friend of mine and his family has a house with two living rooms. While most families may have copies of magazine and photo albums on their coffee table, there family has two ipad docs, loaded with subscriptions to over ten magazines and five newspapers. To me that is a perfect example of where this society is headed.

  15. Robert Phillips says:

    When looking at the major trends we discussed, I agree that the biggest projected growth in social media is in mobile devices. I believe that newspapers and magazines will also follow this trend. However, I still believe there will be a desire for print copies of certain magazines and books. The likely solution for this is that these sites that offer digital media will also provide the option to order a paper copy. Therefore they can make money from the consumers who would like an online subscription and also make money from those who prefer a paper subscription.

  16. Ali Corbin says:

    The media is changing so rapidly that we have seen it happen before us in a very short amount of time. For instance, when I was in high school I would watch The Today show with my family every morning before school, and that is how I would get my daily dose of news. Today, I no longer wake up to watch the news because it is easier and more convenient to check the news on my NBC or Yahoo application on my phone. No longer do I have to wait to watch what is happening or even look it up on the Internet, I have the news directly on my phone, instantly when I need it.

  17. Jennifer Thurman says:

    It is very evident media is changing rapidly. I believe eventually, printed media will no longer exsist. As technology advances news papers will no longer be produced. In my opinion, I think people will move away from print news for their convience. Anyone can simply get updated on the news from an app on their phone and surfing the web. For example, even the large newspaper New York Times has created a news app for people to check the news at their convience. I aslo believe digital media will overthrow print media and people will just tune into news broadcast on television. Facebook, Twitter, and other social media will assist people turning on their television for news. Once someone reads a story someone posted they want to get the whole scope and put the news channel on.

  18. Elliott Guffin says:

    The world we live in today is much different than it used to be. Thinking back, when I was a kid at the Doctor’s Office I would look around at all the magazines. Now there are all these kids on their iPads, iPods, and iPhones playing games and getting there entertainment elsewhere. News and Information is going to go digital. Especially with Apple making advances for everyone to be able to have and use a devise. My grandmother has an iPad and can use it. We are changing to a digital world. Are we ready for it or are we going to be lost in translation? Are we going to forget what it was like to hold that magazine in your hand and feel that kind of ownership?

  19. Sarah Ashton Baker says:

    Smart phones have become a staple of today’s generation. Even my eight-year-old cousin has a more advanced iPhone than I have. On the other hand, I spent a good fifteen minutes teaching my grandmother to use the DVD player on her laptop. However, the fact that she is adapting and eager to learn to use a laptop is an example of adaptation for the “baby boomer” generation. I definitely think the mobile trend will advance in technology and grow to reach new audiences. Although I believe media will always have a place in print, the future of media is mobile.

  20. Daisy Strudwick says:

    I think that as the cable news networks gain more influence on our daily lives, the less important newspapers will become. Although I frequently read the newspaper in the mornings, our society as a whole has become too fast paced to be able to make reading newspapers apart of our daily routines. As we have become more accustomed to the accessibility of news and the 24-hour news cycle, we are abandoning our traditional ways and forging into the digital era at a more rapid pace than ever. While circulation has gone down 4%, I hope that we are able to figure out a way to reverse this downward trend.

  21. Ellen Whitaker says:

    Before the internet, news primarily came from newspapers and television networks. In this fast-paced day in age, it is now more common for news to come from smart phones. I personally receive my news from the Twitter application on my iPhone. I check it multiple times a day, and the news stations that I follow tell me the major news stories that are going on in the world. Even though I enjoy a printed newspaper, I typically do not read them. Newspaper weekday circulation has fallen 4%, and it is more sensible for them to become digitalized.

  22. Meaghan Snell says:

    Personally, digital media in general will be the future main trend. Looking back Christmas presents were toys, or bikes, but now it’s iPads, XBox’s, or some digital device. Determining a possible future main trend is based off the youngest generations. For example, starting off my 8yr old cousin on an iPad will cause him to expect all things to be accessed that way. Now he uses it for games, but later he’ll be using it for the news. Starting off younger generations on digital devices, over time it will completely take over as the main trend if it hasn’t already.

  23. Christina Figg says:

    A complete transition from newspapers being delivered to only being offered on mobile devices is something I see happening in the near future. With the gradual decline of sales in the print business, and more and more affordable mobile sources coming in to play, I think that in the next 15-20 years there will be no need for an actual hard copy of a newspaper anymore. People can subscribe on their phones, tablets, and computers just as easily as they can walk to their drive way and pick up a paper.

  24. Kelly Litzelfelner says:

    I think the Metered Model will take off in the future. As discussed in class, hundreds of online newspapers are expected to join the hundreds of other publications that have already moved to this digital system. With this, I think companies such as Netflix and Hulu can switch to the Metered Model. In doing so, instead of having one month free before they purchase, people can have a certain amount of free TV episodes or movies to watch before having to pay for them.

  25. Bridge Leigh says:

    As often as it is used today, one would expect for mobile news to advance the most. After all, humans are beginning to move more than ever, as reported by the US Travel Association. So, we must remember that portability is key in what the future holds. However, since the news world is one of revenue, it is uncertain to make any prediction as to which platform will be the most prevalent in the years to come, and it is irrefutable that media will follow whichever platform brings in the most profit – be it mobile, television, social media.

  26. The evolution of mobile devices I believe has had the most significant impact on the future of media. Mobile devices give users the ability to communicate in a wide variety of ways across the globe fairly easily. As well as the access to gain information nearly instantly. All the news in the entire world is sitting at your fingertips. I have reached the point where I acquire most of my news and do most of my browsing on my mobile device rather than my laptop. Simply because my device is on me at all times and is as fast at acquiring info as any other device I own.

  27. Lindsay Langston says:

    I believe that technology is taking over society, especially within the realm of media. The future of society relies on what the next “new big gadget” is going to be, for we rely on technology to function and carry out our daily lives. I believe that the future of media is going to heavily revolve around mobile devices. I remember growing up and watching my parents read the newspaper while I ate breakfast before school everyday. Now, when I’m home, I never see them read the newspapers we get delivered to our house but instead they check updates on their iPads and iPhones. I myself get all my current events and news updates from social media sites such as Twitter and Facebook because I simply touch an app on my phone, which contributes to the appealing idea of conveniency. I believe that gadgets such as mobile phones will become the future of media, due to conveniency and the ability to receive news moments after it happened.

  28. Taylor Walters says:

    In today’s media there is no way to overlook the growing impact that mobile devices have on the new media world. However, from my own personal experience the radio is still a crucial source of media for the world. There is always a point where my IPod music is too repetitive and I turn to the radio or XM stations for something new and different. As well as having new music, even popular music stations provide you with important news details while other channels can be accessed for more information. Therefore, the radio will continue to impact new media forever.

  29. Laura Lindsay Viergever says:

    The media world is an ever changing entity with people wanting and getting information faster and easier than ever with the touch of a finger. With the movement of smartphones and tablets, people have constant access to news and information. It seems like almost everyone has a smartphone these days. With the use of smartphones and push notificatns, people can be alerted when something is happening, instantly. For example, on my phone, I am subscribed to The New York Times, USA Today, and I have an app for my local newspaper. All of which I get multiple notifications and alerts when there is breaking news. I also follow multiple news sources on twitter, which I check frequently. I enjoy staying up to date on current events, but being subscribed to these news applications almost forces me to stay “in the know.”

  30. Benjamin Bryan says:

    I think a major trend in media is the future of apps. The fact that 27% of people receive news on their mobile devices makes this statement accurate. I think newspapers and other forms of news outlets are all starting to produce an app that is available through your smart phone, ipad, etc. This makes it very convenient for the user, which is the most important factor. I personally have several newspaper apps on my phone that I read, but am not subscribed to via hard copy. With the progress of technology in the past few years, it makes it evident that the future of technology will only continue to advance. With this being said, I think that all news will become accessible over a form of an app to make it easily available for the reader.

  31. Sydney Leaphart says:

    With all the advancing technology around us, the media is also following suite. With technology being so advance now a days, it allows people to multi task at greater and better level then ever before. Newspapers and news stations also having digital outlets allows people to multi task. In the 21st century, society is on the “go” now more then ever. For example, the today show runs every morning from 7am-10am most of society does not have time for that. Now having the digital outlets of such news sources on your smartphone, laptop, or tablet people are able to do other things while also watching or reading the news.

  32. Katie Whann says:

    With new technology developing everyday, the media is slowly working to be connected to us in every aspect of our lives. I think that one of the major trends that is up and coming in our society is apps that are easy to download from our mobile devices. I think that as time goes on, we will use one device for all of our many needs. Being able to use a one device is something that I think will be the future of technology. Using something so small to download so many different apps to watch TV, listen to music, and have access to our newspapers and magazines is digitally converting all of our needs to one device. With new divisions and advancements in technology, so many new apps will be created to help people compact all of their needs into one device.

  33. Katie Adams says:

    A new trend in the media world is the trend of Twitter. Twitter is a social media sight where the entire platform is to simply let your followers know what you are doing and you have to say it in 140 characters or less. This calls for short and concise posts. The trend specifically I am talking about is getting all of your news and cultural events from Twitter. This means most of todays young people are getting all of their news and cultural events from 140 characters or less. Although I have no issue with the new trends of technology and the huge technological advances the world is making, I do think that the decline in reading newspapers and watching the news and being interested in the events of the country we live in is sad and will end up being a real issue for our country. For example, instead of watching the news and manning the polls online, I found out that Obama was elected for a second term on twitter. I checked my twitter and there were a lot of tweets either negative or positive about the president and so I got online and the Internet informed me that the president had been elected for a second term.

  34. Jordan Mckeever says:

    An increasing trend in today’s world is the transfer of print media to digital media. Reading the news online from your small iPad or iPhone is simply easier than carrying around a newspaper. Having the media online allows you to search/read/discover the news quicker than you would with a newspaper. It is much more convenient for the average time-consumed human of today. My family used to receive the daily newspaper when I was younger, but my father switched our subscription to solely the Sunday newspaper. We all switched to reading the daily news off our electronic devices. We kept the Sunday newspaper though, because even though reading media online is more convenient, my family still enjoys reading from print media.

  35. Tessa Romack says:

    There is no doubt in my mind that more news outlets will continue to move to digital subscriptions for multiple reasons. Life is moving at an even faster pace than it was even 5 years ago and people do not even have time to do all of the necessary things they need to get done every day so they are not going to take the time to sit down and read the newspaper. People continue to spend more and more time on their phones now a days instead of reading actual print which means that the more news papers turn to digital subscription the better chance they will have of people reading their articles. Lastly, our grandparents generation is used to waking up every morning and reading the newspaper with their cup of coffee but as soon as they pass away I do not think reading an actual newspaper will be something that prominently exists in our culture.

  36. Chloie Johnson says:

    Since it is both convenient and fast, I believe that technology, specifically smart phones and tablets, are the future of media. With a new iPhone, app, or tablet coming out every year, there seems to be more and more ways for us to access news and information. These new options are leading to a future that is going to be run by mobile devices. For example, people used to have to be at home at a specific time to watch the news every night, or run home to use their desktop computer to look up the news, but now anyone with an iphone or ipad can stream it directly to them anytime anywhere. The major trends in media are and will continue to be based on convenience, efficiency, and how quickly we can receive it. I believe that in the future some new device will be created to surpass the cell phone just like the desktop was surpassed by the laptop and then by the cell phone and then by the smart phone. There will always be “the new thing” that will change our media.

  37. Catherine Montague says:

    In recent years, I have discovered that instead of reaching towards a newspaper or turning on the television to receive my news, I reach for my phone or computer. As years go on I believe that people will slowly stop receiving their information through newspapers and start receiving it through apps on mobile devices such as an IPhone or IPad. In my opinion, receiving news from an online newspaper seems to be a much quicker way to receive the latest news than waiting for the print version to come out a day later. I believe that as time moves forward, most media will permanently be accessed through the web.

  38. Cidney Simmons says:

    I believe that the future of media is progressing towards becoming more digital. This is evident by the number of media outlets that have converted to being available online through either websites or an app in the app store. People do not care about watching a newscast for an hour just to hear about another shooting or what not, when they can program their phone to push notifications. So, not only is this fast and more direct, it keeps more informed because it is at their own leisure. So many apps are available on iTunes that help in other areas of our lives from teaching kids to read to ESPN updates.

  39. Matt Mayfield says:

    I believe that the future of media is headed for a downfall of privacy. With Google requiring users to have a Google+, I believe eventually all of our internet experiences will be personalized. After years of relying on advertising to drive revenues, selling information about user’s preferences and website history is now more lucrative for companies. But in my opinion, it’s a serious breach of privacy. It’s like walking into JC Penny’s at the mall and the associate asking what store you just came from. But, I feel users will continue to accept this in order to use those products or services.

  40. Martin Powell says:

    In the emerging tech-savvy culture of today, I see the future of news media moving towards the digital format. More specifically, I believe we will see a trend of major newspapers diverting more content to their websites. When the cost of getting a newspaper from press to doorstep is analyzed, one can quickly realize the major advantage of having a strong electronic counterpart. News can now reach more customers almost instantly at a much lower cost. With the ever-growing availability and presence of smartphones and the internet, newspaper company’s will inevitably be adopting the form of the enhanced digital experience at an exponential rate.

    • Martin Powell says:

      EDIT:

      In the emerging tech-savvy culture of today, I see the future of news media moving towards the digital format. More specifically, I believe we will see a trend of major newspapers diverting more content to their websites. When the cost of getting a newspaper from press to doorstep is analyzed, one can quickly realize the major advantage of having a strong electronic counterpart. News can now reach more customers almost instantly at a much lower cost. With the ever-growing availability and presence of smartphones and the internet, newspaper companys will inevitably be adopting the form of the enhanced digital experience at an exponential rate.

  41. Parker Bergsagel says:

    I believe that advances in mobile technology will play a large role in the future of media. As smart phones and tablets become more accessible, people have begun to get their news using these devices. I think that news papers will suffer the greatest hit from this, as having it on your phone or tablet is easier that carrying the actual paper. Also, with apps and news becoming available on the internet, readers can access content from all over the world covering a multitude of topics.

Leave a Reply

