Interviewing Assignment

Using one or more components of digital media, you have until NEXT MONDAY (April 4) at 8 a.m. to complete the following assignment, which is worth a 100-pt. quiz grade:

Interview someone who isn’t a friend or family member. It’s up to you to decide how to capture the interview using a combination of photos, audio, video, text, etc.

However, you must adhere to the following guidelines:

1) You must capture at least one photo OR video clip of your subject.

2) You must ask the subject at least five questions of your choosing.

3) You must publish the interview (including photos, video, audio, etc.) either on your personal blog or by creating your own blog (Tumblr, Blogger and WordPress are recommended).

4) You must include a text element, whether it’s a transcription of the interview itself or a brief informational paragraph about your subject and/or the .

4) You are allowed to work with a partner, but are not required.

Here are a few suggestions for how to format the assignment; however, you are not limited to these options:

– Photos + Text with raw, transcribed interview

– Photo + Video clip + text summary of subject’s bio

– Photo + Audio interview

– Video interview

When you and/or your partner publish your content, copy and paste the URL into a comment on THIS blog post no later than 8 a.m. Monday, April 4.

Questions? E-mail me at kamcdani@gmail.com.

About Alex McDaniel

I am a first-year journalism graduate student at the University of Mississippi.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

138 Responses to Interviewing Assignment

  1. Kristen Peters says:

    Here’s the link Ms. Alex! Sorry about the confusion, lets try this again!!!

    http://kristenmpeters.tumblr.com/

  2. This is my interview!

  3. William Bumpas says:

    http://experiencerakers.tumblr.com/

    Audio interview with photo and short paragraph

  4. eadavis1 says:

    eadavis1 wordpress is for Julie Lawson and Emily Davis

    • Alex McDaniel says:

      Hi ladies,

      A reminder that you are required to have a photo or video to accompany your assignment.

  5. Paige Steward says:

    thatgirlpaigeyypersonal.tumblr.com

  6. Rachael Clark says:

    Rachael Clark and Paige Dominick
    therachaelandpaigeshow.tumblr.com

  7. Interviewing assignment

  8. Valone Gordon says:

    This is my interviewing assignment:

    http://vdgordon123.wordpress.com

  9. Samira Abunemeh says:

    My interview is at this address: http://snabunemeh.tumblr.com/.

  10. Sydney Devers says:

    Here is my interview : http://sydneydevers.blogspot.com

  11. Heather D. Hall says:

    Here is my blog site. I have more things on my blog, but the interview for this class is called “A word with someone special (interview for journalism 101)”

    http://www.heatherdhall.tumblr.com

  12. This is my interview with Amy Merphy Donnelly, owner of Mink’s on the Park

  13. Alexa Bode says:

    Interview assignment:
    http://alexabode.tumblr.com/

  14. Steff Thomas says:

    • Steff Thomas says:

      Questions
      1. What is your major and what made you decide on it?
      2. Why did you choose Ole Miss?
      3. Do you feel you made the right decision?
      4. What was the hardest part of being a first-year student?
      5. Do you have any advice for incoming freshman?

      Red haired Ashley Locke, age 19, has lived in three different states. Currently she is a resident of Madison, MS as well as here in Oxford, MS. She is the oldest of two, her sister being sixteen. Her hobbies include reading, writing, soccer, and frisbee. She feels she made the right decision regarding college. I was honored to be able to interview her for this project.

    • Alex McDaniel says:

      Remember, you’re required to post a photo or video of the interview to receive credit for the assignment.

  15. Lauren Lyles says:

    Lauren Lyles & Jade Amerson

  16. Here’s my really awkward interview..enjoy it!

  17. Daniel Forman says:

    Daniel Forman and Leslie Merritt interview.

    http://danformanee.blogspot.com/2011/04/mr-robot.html

  18. Lisa B. says:

    lisalb.tumblr.com

  19. Kelly Scott says:

    here’s my interview!

  20. Katie Ireland says:

    here’s the link to my interview!http://www.tumblr.com/dashboard

    • Alex McDaniel says:

      That isn’t the link to your blog – it’s the link to your dashboard. Please provide the URL to your blog.

  21. Kyle Ishman says:

    I literally have clue how to flip my video. I’m so sorry

  22. Kyle Ishman says:

    I literally have clue how to flip my video. I’m so sorry

  23. Ashleigh Austin says:

    artbyashleigh.tumblr.com

  24. here is my interview

  25. Ansley Lance says:

    http://tirranny.tumblr.com/

    Interviewed by ANSLEY LANCE and SAMANTHA STACK

  26. Mara Joffe says:

    In this interview, Freshman Abby Abide shares her thoughts on the on-going crisis in Japan with special regard to how the media is handling its coverage in the disaster-ridden nation.

  27. Hattie Wheeler says:

    here is my interview!

    http://hgwheele.tumblr.com/

  28. This is Jasmine Mays and I blog post.

  29. Hope this is right. Jasmine Mays and I…Enjoy!!

  30. Jasmine Mays says:

    This is Corianna Newsom and I. Enjoy!

  31. Interview with Terrell Brown

    Terrell Brown, a junior football player at the University of Mississippi. Weighing 376 pounds and measuring 6’11”, Terrell is clearly someone to be feared on the field. Majoring in graphic design, Brown’s career goal is to design magazines for ESPN; however, his main goal is to be drafted into the NFL. In our interview we asked Terrel a few question about football, and how he manages it with his school work. Terrel assured us that it’s not easy to juggle the two, but it is very important to stay focused in order to be successful.

  32. Interview with Terrell Brown

    Terrell Brown, a junior football player at the University of Mississippi. Weighing 376 pounds and measuring 6’11”, Terrell is clearly someone to be feared on the field. Majoring in graphic design, Brown’s career goal is to design magazines for ESPN; however, his main goal is to be drafted into the NFL. In our interview we asked Terrel a few question about football, and how he manages it with his school work. Terrel assured us that it’s not easy to juggle the two, but it is very important to stay focused in order to be successful.

  33. Heather Cray says:

    Here is my Interview site!

    http://heathercray.blogspot.com/

  34. Molly Wesley says:

    I think this will work… well hopefully!

  35. Wesley Sutton says:

    Here is my blog posting.
    http://wesleytsutton.tumblr.com/

  36. Ben Tedford says:

    I’m sorry but I’m having some technical difficulties but if you click my name it takes you to my blog. Sorry for the inconvenience.

  37. Ryan Powell says:

    Here is me and my partner, Caroline Hall’s, interview.

    http://thecarolinehall.wordpress.com/

  38. Joliasa Miller says:

  39. LeAnna Young says:

    Here is my interview assignment.

  40. Heather Applewhite says:

  41. Moira Daly Anthony says:

    My partner was Ciara Charles. I interviewed an R.A. that works in Crosby Hall. The interview can be found at:

    http://moira-daly.tumblr.com/

  42. danvenne says:

    http://danvenne.files.wordpress.com/interview
    I dont know why it isnt working. Im going to try something else.

  43. Jour 101

    Reporter- Gabrielle Krotser
    Interviewee- William McMillan

    Q1) How long have you been in Rotc?
    A1) 4 months

    Q2) What were your reasons for joining the program?
    A2) I wanted to be a leader and a step ahead of the average person.

    Q3) What is your favorite thing about the program?
    A3) Being able to say that I am part of the United States Military, something a lot bigger than myself

    Q4) What has been the hardest part of the program?
    A4) Waking up at 5:30 in the morning

    Q5) Would you recommend this program to everyone?
    A5) Any highly motivated individuals

  44. Taylor Kamnetz says:

    tbri14.tumblr.com

  45. Abe Dean says:

    This the link to my video interview.

  46. Cliff Kinney says:

    http://gckinney.tumblr.com/

    My phone would not upload the video that I recorded so I had to write the transcript and post through tumblr. Transcript is included on the blog post

  47. Alex Nichols says:

    I’m concerned that my email never got to you the week I was trying to send the video (which was the Monday after the project was due – we talked after class and you said I could post it late because of Flipcam problems). So here is the link again, sorry for the inconvenience.

Leave a Reply

