Hello Again, Experience Makers!

Hi everyone!

I’m Alex, Dr. Husni’s teaching assistant for Journalism 101. My contact information is listed on the syllabus, so feel free to e-mail me at kamcdani@gmail.com if you ever have any questions about the class.

You will be expected to stay informed on current events, but chances are you don’t have the time to read the New York Times or Wall Street Journal cover-to-cover each day. I recommend checking out The Daily Beast; it’s a wonderful news aggregate. Also, if you have an iPhone, go ahead and download the free news app, Fluent News. It also pulls stories from multiple resources so you can get the best of what’s out there without visiting multiple news sites each day.

Also, make sure you’re keeping up with local and state news, including The Daily MississippianThe Oxford Eagle and The Clarion-Ledger.

Remember your first test will be this Wednesday, Jan. 26.  All you need is something to write with.

 

About Alex McDaniel

I am a first-year journalism graduate student at the University of Mississippi.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Hello Again, Experience Makers!

  1. Molly Wesley says:

    I am really looking forward to this class!
    -Molly Wesley

  2. Adriana Mercier says:

    I can’t wait to learn more. I feel like this class will be very interesting and fun.

  3. Dj says:

    Hi Alex,
    I too plan to become a journalist. I want to do broadcast journalism. I am really looking forward to learning about the media and what it can offer people.

  4. Christina Huck says:

    I am excited for this class and I feel like I am going to learn so much!

  5. Kristen Peters says:

    Wow! I’ve only been to this class twice and it has already become my favorite!!! You and Dr. Husni make a great team! I cannot wait to learn more!!

  6. Erica Boney says:

    Thank you for letting us know about The Daily Beast. I found it very helpful!!

  7. David Collier says:

    This class sounds like it will be fun and give us a better idea of what to expect in our future. Thanks for the websites.

  8. Julie Lawson says:

    I have an interview coming up and need to be fully aware of what is going on in the news so these links have been great! Thank you for your help already!

  9. Lee Morgan Gunn says:

    This class already seems interesting after only 2 classes! I can’t wait to see what the rest of the semester brings! The world of journalism is growing, and I know this class will help me stay involved!

  10. Josh Spencer says:

    I’m more eager to take down Nancy Grace with great investigative journalism….any suggestions??

    • Alex McDaniel says:

      Seeing someone produce actual investigative journalism will probably make her so green with envy she won’t be able to stand it.

  11. Jeremy Dillard says:

    This class seems like it is going to be a lot of fun! I am really looking forward to this semester in journalism.

  12. Nori Moore says:

    I’m excited about taking this class. I know this class will help me stay involved in the media, and news.

  13. Cameron Cook says:

    I never thought i’d find myself taking a journalism class, but i’m glad that I am now. It seems very interesting and I know i’m going to learn a lot!

  14. Patrick McCormack says:

    Looking forward to this class, i am very interested in journalism, looking forward to a good year and am excited to learn more about journalism.

  15. Jeremy Scruggs says:

    Hi Alex
    I am exiceted about this class and can’t wait to find out more about the world of Journalism.

    -Jeremy Scruggs

  16. Kevin williams says:

    I am greatly looking forward to participating in this class!

  17. Steff Thomas says:

    Alex,
    I have heard only good things about you from those who know you. I cannot wait to see what is in store for this class, both from what you can teach us and Professor Husni. I have no doubt in my mind that this class will be both inspiring and rewarding.

  18. Heather H. says:

    Hi! I know I’m a little late (I’ve never done blogging before, EVER). I can’t wait to learn in this class, it is most definitely the most unique class I have ever attended. I’m a Nursing major, not a journalism major, but writing is my favorite pastime. Eager to learn more!

  19. Mara Joffe says:

    It’s nice to know I don’t have to cram current event headlines every morning before class this semester! Perhaps this time around I can actually take the time to read an entire story, rather than simply memorizing important names and places. The atmosphere of this class certainly makes me more eager to learn and pursue a career in the journalism field!

  20. Paris Crawford says:

    As an aspiring journalist, I am very excited about this class! Dr. Husni is very entertaining, and he starts my Mondays off the right way!

  21. Ashley Kirkwood says:

    Can’t wait to get started…I’m so excited!

  22. Courtney says:

    I am enjoying this class already.

  23. Latisha Baker says:

    This is kinda late and all but………..
    ………From what I’ve read Alex, YOU ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOUR MAJOR. You have had jobs involving it and everything. I mean I still haven’t figured out what I plan to do for a job in Psychology, but I really want to do something here at Ole Miss like you. You must have a really nice life long plan 🙂 I’m jealous.

Leave a Reply

