iPad publishing? The Pros and the Cons? Too soon to judge?

Here is a very good review on the status of iPad publications and “what went wrong with the first group of publications” using the iPad.


The review is on the Monday Note blog and can be accessed here. The review is written by French writer and media consultant Frédéric Filloux.

Let me know what you think by clicking on the comment button and sharing your opinion with the rest of the class, and for that matter, the world.

About Samir Husni

Samir Husni, aka Mr. Magazine™, is the founder and director of the Magazine Innovation Center at the University of Mississippi. He is also Professor and Hederman Lecturer of Journalism at the School of Journalism and New Media. Dr. Husni is the author of the annual Samir Husni's Guide to New Magazines, which is now in its 28th year. He is also the author of Launch Your Own Magazine: A Guide for Succeeding in Today's Marketplace published by Hamblett House, Inc. and Selling Content: The Step-by-Step Art of Packaging Your Own Magazine, published by Kendall Hunt, Magazine Publishing in the 21st Century, published by Kendall Hunt, and co-author of Design Your Own Magazine. He has presented seminars on trends in American magazines to the editorial, advertising and sales staff of the magazine groups of the Morris Communications Company, Hearst Corp., Hachette Filipacchi Magazines, Meredith Corp., Reader's Digest Magazine, ESPN the magazine, Sail Magazine, American Airlines Publishing, the National Geographic Society, the Swedish magazine group Bonnier, the Finnish magazine group Sanoma Magazines, Southern Progress magazines, New South Publishing, Inc., the Society of Professional Journalists, the American Society of Magazine Editors, Vance Publishing Corporation, the Florida Magazine Association, The Magazine Association of Georgia, the National Society of Black Journalists, the Japanese Magazine Publishers Association, and the American Press Institute. He is "the country's leading magazine expert," according to Forbes ASAP magazine, "the nation's leading authority on new magazines," according to min:media industry newsletter; and The Chicago Tribune dubbed him "the planet's leading expert on new magazines." Dr. Husni has been interviewed by major U.S. media on subjects related to the magazine industry. He has been profiled and is regularly quoted in The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, USA Today, The Chronicle of Higher Education, and many other newspapers nationwide, as well as the major newsweeklies and a host of trade publications. He has appeared on Good Morning America, CNBC, CNN, CNNFN, PBS, and on numerous radio talk shows including National Public Radio's Morning and Weekend Editions. Dr. Husni has also served as an expert witness in several lawsuits involving major media corporations including Time Inc. and American Express Publishing among others. He has been a judge of The National Magazines Awards, The Evangelical Magazines Association, The City and Regional Magazines Association, and The Florida and Georgia Magazine Association Awards. Dr. Husni is the President and CEO of Magazine Consulting & Research, a firm specializing in new magazine launches, repositioning of established magazines, and packaging publications for better sales and presentations. Dr. Husni holds a doctorate in journalism from the University of Missouri-Columbia and a master's degree in journalism from the University of North Texas. When he is not in his office reading magazines, Dr. Husni is at the newsstands buying magazines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to iPad publishing? The Pros and the Cons? Too soon to judge?

  1. Sam Wilson says:

    I agree with Larry Kramer’s comment that he posted about the article. It is too early with not enough people who own an I-pad to give a complete assessment. I have an I-pad but have not subscribed to a newspaper or magazine yet, but plan on doing so in the near future.

  2. Camille Condrey says:

    I feel like not enough people have iPads to take these figures too seriously. Although, there is clearly a reason why sales have decreased so much for iPad editions. As convenient as magazines must be on one’s iPad, it can’t replace an old fashioned paper one sitting on a coffee table for everyone to enjoy.

  3. Mary Cosby Parker says:

    Although I have an ipad, I have not downloaded any books to read electronically , personally I would much rather go to a book store and purchase a hard copy of a book to read. However, my dad, who is obsessed with technology has an e-book and he loves it. I could see ipads becoming more and more convenient to the public as time goes on.

  4. Grace Pittard says:

    In my opinion I do not see the use for the iPad. Though they seem to be convenient to some, why would I want to sit and wait as long as Filloux said that downloading took? I find it much more enjoyable to read printed versions of magazines and books. So i agree with Camille, as well. I do agree with the Sam about the comment that man made. Not enough people have an iPad yet to be able to correctly judge its success.

  5. Bentley Harvey says:

    Although I do not have an Ipad, I do have an Iphone 4 and have Fox news, USA today, and People magazine apps on my Iphone. Two of these three apps are very slow and do not update information quickly. Even though these apps are slow to download and retrieve info, I can see why people would rather read off of “new” technology” rather than go buy a newspaper or magazine. Personally, I like to buy hard copies of news and magazines instead of having to download the news and try to read it off of a screen.

  6. Elizabeth O'Connell says:

    To me, it seems like Apple should be worrying about the decline in sales more than magazine publishers. I don’t have an Ipad because I don’t feel like I need one. I can access things from magazines or newspapers by buying them or going to their website. Why would I want an expensive iPad to access something that I can already easily and fully access? If there was something about these magazines or newspapers only the iPad could offer, then I would want to spend the money on an iPad. Otherwise, I’ll just continue to buy hard copies of things or look them up online.

  7. Madison Featherston says:

    I also think that it is too early to judge the ipad’s success with publications. I think that as time goes on and newer versions are released, it will become easier to download and read books and magazines on them. However, I don’t have an ipad and don’t intend on getting one. I can see the attraction for having so much material right at your fingertips, but personally, I would much rather purchase magazines and newspapers to read.

  8. frank lawler says:

    My opinion on the ipad fluctuates. When they first came out, i just thought of it is a giant ipod touch. It has a bigger screen, but it still holds the same amount of memory as a normal ipod. They should enhance the gigabytes on it considering how large it is. I was skeptical when they first came out, but i am starting to like them. They actually are pretty neat, and they have a lot of cool apps you can dowload. They are kind of exspensive for something that was made for books, magazines, and newspaper readers.I also think that buying books on an ipad takes away all of the fun and excitment authors have when they finish a book. The more people that buy e-books, the less people an author will have at his or her book signings. A lot of people that read books, read for the enjoyment and to also get away from technology. An average book costs under 20 dollars, a magazine under 10, and a newspaper under 2, so i think it is kind of pointless for people to buy them if they are avid readers because some people read so many books in a year it could add up to way more than the cost of the ipad. If you buy the ipad, you are still going to have to pay the same price for books. I would just buy a macbook and a regular book and read it. It would be more bang for your buck, in my opinion.

  9. Katherine Ridgeway says:

    One point that stuck out to me was when Frédéric Filloux stated that magazines need to adapt to the new medium. If they are going to try and sell the same content for the same price with few special features, there needs to be a special difference between the two. Reading a print magazines and reading one on an ipad are two different experiences. Publishers do need to fine a way to make reading a magazine on an ipad seem more natural.

  10. Holly Crosthwait says:

    In my opinion, iPads suffer because of their slow download time and the expense of their magazines. I do not own an iPad because I enjoy the experience that I get when I pick up a magazine and read it from front to back. If I had to wait a couple of days to download my favorite magazine on an iPad, I would probably never use the device again for that purpose. Also, if I had to pay the same price for a virtual magazine as I would a print version, I would have to choose the print version. When Apple works out the various problems with downloading and pricing, I would consider revising my opinion of the ipad. But, for now, I will continue to purchase and read magazines that I buy from my local bookstore.

  11. Melissa Gunn says:

    I think he made a pretty solid point when giving the example of traveling in airports or such. The Ipad is handy and new right up until the magazine or paper is conveniently available in its print version at which point the more complicated technological version suddenly loses its appeal. I think Ipads are great to do certain things with but in my opinion it would take some serious innovation to ever get it to a point where it could ever be taken seriously as a satisfying replacement for good old print. However as everyone has stated the device is very new and it is really too early to tell what all can be done with it.

  12. Katherine Johnson says:

    It’s a little too early to really judge the iPad, but it’s clear that readers like Filloux missed the physical aspect of holding a magazine. He found himself buying copies of the very same magazines he had previously downloaded. This directly relates to our discussion in class yesterday about the human need to own and collect things.

  13. Kristin Mathis says:

    For the most part I agree with this article and review of the iPad. The iPad is the new fad of technology, I completely agree with Frédéric Filloux’s statement, “The browsing experience, the photographs, even the sensation of reading long form articles are all more enjoyable on a physical glossy.” I take the pleasure of flipping through the pages in magazines. I do not own an iPad, but if I did, I do not think that I would waste my time buying books, magazines or newspapers. For me to enjoy a magazine, I need to have the physical experience of turning a page.

  14. Rigby Porter says:

    I agree with Sam, it is too early to tell much about the Ipad. Although I do not have one, my mom recently bought one and she has loved it and used it alot more than I thought she would. Having the Ipad has made it a much easier way for her to access the internet and read her magazines more conveniently. Although the Ipad is a great invention and is a new form of reading, books, magazines, and newspapers will still be around for many years to come.

  15. Michala Burman says:

    I feel that overtime Ipad magazine and newspaper subscriptions will grow, but that is only if the right improvements are made to make a faster download to its customers and the easy access and organization of all the magazine issues and subscriptions. It is in the Ipad’s best interest to fit to its customer needs.

  16. Laura Quittmeyer says:

    Having an actual newspaper or magazine physically being in yours hands is more comfortable than relying on electronics. Personally, I love my computer and other electronics, but I do not think they can always be depended on. They can easily break, run out of battery, etc. I also personally prefer to hold a book and flip through pages than stare at a screen. With technology advancing, it’s nice to keep some things old-fashioned.

  17. Katie Williamson says:

    Copying the exact same version of a paper magazine onto a digital platform is just silly. The ipad has so many more media platforms and interesting functions that can be used to create an experience. A magazine is ink on paper and an ipad app should be something else entirely. What is the point of having a video function and touch screen if it is not used? It is almost the same as putting a book on a television screen and expecting people to prefer the HD pages to paper back classics. Why are ipad apps trying to make magazines? It should not try to compete it should coexist. The ipad magazine is killing itself.

  18. Bailey Sloan says:

    I myself do not own an iPad, therefore I can’t really comment on how well the iPad does or doesn’t work. I can say that Filloux is correct when he brings up the issue of how slow magazines, etc. download. People in the world today, because of technology, are very impatient. Having said this, waiting around for an issue they want to read THEN to download in a matter of hours or even days is unacceptable, even on the newest, coolest technology out at the time. I do have to admit, the iPad would be more convenient then carrying around three or four of your favorite magazines on a plane ride. The world is always looking for the next best thing. Paying more for an online magazine than you do for one on paper is not really the way readers want to get there magazines. I honestly think that I could get an old fashioned paper copy of Cosmopolitan faster and cheaper than I could go buy an iPad, pay more for the online version, and wait hours or even days for it to download. The next issue would be out before I could finish reading it.

  19. Haley Morgan says:

    Even though my family owns an iPad, i think its still too early to judge the success of it. It might not be as successful as the makers had hoped, but mostly all of the new electronic things that newly come out are not as successful or great as they could be. The makers have to work the kinks out and add things to better the electronic device. In my opinion, the iPad will be more successful in the future when people know more about it and have accepted the concept that more and more things are being electronically used.

  20. Hillary says:

    I feel that the iPad is just another addition to the toolbox of journalists and their publications. The iPad is not the end of print, if anything it is something to get excited about. New outlets for more stories.

  21. Matthew Jones says:

    I think the article makes a very good point about e-magazines taking away from the “fun” of browsing through magazine aisle at your local bookstore or grocery store. I have considered many times getting an e-reader because I enjoy reading and I think it would be great to just be able to download another book wherever I have wi-fi. Although it would be very efficient for when I travel, there is just something about having the physical book, and besides I wouldn’t have anything to put on my bookshelves. Being the nerd that I am, I also enjoy browsing around Books-A-Million whenever I have free time. I also think the ipad itself still has a long way to go before some people are convinced they “need” one.

  22. Ramsay Quinn says:

    In researching and studying present day Ipad’s, it is evident to point out the importance of download speed and capacity. Magazines are at the top of the list with novels for items to download, yet for some reason the price/name is holding consumers back. The Ipad is just another technological gimic that came out to prove that Apple could produce a wireless laptop. In time, however, magazines will be able to be produced thru Apple’s Itunes network, but for now this isn’t possible. Until a new company invents a similar yet more constructive version of this handheld device, everyone will rave over it’s popularity. With times in mind, market control is in Apple’s hands, and this will allow them to make decisions for us. Where is our say-so??

  23. Elliott Anderson says:

    When the first iPad came out I was excited about the new technology, but quickly came to feel that there wasn’t much new about it. The idea is certainly cool, a sort of hybrid between a PDA and a laptop, it simply reminds me too much of the iTouch. That being said, it still supports plenty of useful apps that its smaller relatives couldn’t reasonably offer. Tablets, like all new forms of technology, will improve with time. I’m not ignorant to the fact that the iPad was released less than a year ago and I look forward to seeing the advancements that it makes.

    • Bruce Miller says:

      I feel the same way, it reminds me of my iPhone. It is just a bigger iPhone a replicate of it. I do like how they improved it though, it is a little different technology than the iPhone. Its like a tweak iPhone on steroids or a PDA. That being said it is a smart idea and I also look forward what it will become in years to come and when it also becomes cheaper.

  24. Sydney Johnson says:

    The iPad, although very sleek, will never fully replace magazines or newspapers. It is something that is more of a toy than a necessity. Personally, I would never buy one because I’m someone that cannot read more than a page of writing on a computer screen; I always print out a hard copy of study guides or notes because it’s more hands on, unlike a computer screen.

  25. Andrew Oswalt says:

    I agree with Dave on Apple overhyping the ipad, but its almost seems this is what every company does for a new gadget they develope. I mean its all about selling your product, seems sometimes companies forget to match what they say their product can do with what the product itself can actually do. Also with new technology you need to give it time to develop, I mean rome wasn’t built in a day.

  26. Liz Wehking says:

    The iPad is personally is too high tech for me. I am one of those people that loves to hold actual things in my hands, and loves to physically turn pages instead of putting your finger on a screen to turn a page. That just seems wrong and unfair to think that because the iPad is so sleek looking, that it can takeover hundreds of years of incredible press that the magazines publish.

  27. farrell lawo says:

    When people claim that the iPad is just an “iTouch on steroids”, I must say I agree with this statement. I think that the iPad is an overrated electronic and we are only focused on it so much because something better hasn’t come along yet. Once that something comes along, there will be just as much controversy over that item as there is for the iPad. Since the iPad is so new, I think it is to soon to judge it’s success with publications. If I had an iPad, I think that I would enjoy having the feel of actual paper and the act of turning pages in my hands than staring at a lit up screen…but that is just my opinion!

  28. Mary Kelley Zeleskey says:

    Even though it may be too early to tell, I do think there will be alot of people that enjoy having an iPad. However, as whole, I believe that it is way too similar to the iTouch for it be as successful as some people thought it would be. I personally dont see the point in them. I enjoy my laptop more than I would enjoy an iPad. When it comes to print dying because of iPads and all of the new technology coming out, I personally don’t think print will every be dead. Like Camille said, there is just something about having the old fashioned newspapers or magazines sitting with a cup of coffee that so many people, including myself, will always enjoy no matter what next “fad” someone comes up with.

  29. Leah Tracy says:

    I believe that the ipad although looks cool, it offers pretty much the same things as an ipod touch or iphone. Having the ability to read books on it is quite cool, but most people still like to have the actual book in hand. I own an ipad and I find that I actually do not use it much. I have my music on my ipod and have my computer for my internet use. I don’t know if it is just my ipad, but I feel like it is a lot slower internet wise then if I were to just use my lap top to use the internet. If I am going to read a book I’d rather have the actual book in hand. Although the ipad has a lot of capabilities I think that as for now they are to expensive for something that most people already have the ability of getting the same stuff from things they already own.

  30. Paris Crawford says:

    I have never been interested in purchasing an ipad. For the price, a mac laptop can be purchased. Although the size is rather convenient, the downloading of apps seems to be slow. Reading magazines on glossy paper is more interesting to me. Reading articles online does not interest me. So many people had so much hype on the ipad. It seems as if many users were disappointed.

  31. Adriana Mercier says:

    I don’t think that i pads are necessary, and I think ordering magazines on them is pointless. People are perfectly capable of walking to get a magazine or newspapers in the stores.I think that it would just be plan lazy to sit in bed and read a magazine on the computer rather than get up and walk to the store. I also think that i pads are not very popular and that everyone doesn’t have one. I am not a very big fan of downloading apps to begin with. I would much rather read a magazine with a cover than something online.

  32. Courtney Smith says:

    I like the Ipad but I don’t think that they are necessary at all, besides it’n nothing but a high priced laptop minus the cd rom drive and other small things that are missing. I’d rather have my laptop, it hasn’t failed me yet.

Leave a Reply

