Hello Experience Makers!

Welcome to Journalism 101: Introduction to Mass Media or what will become known from now on as the Experience Makers class. You are a special group of students who have selected Journalism and Marketing Communications as your major. Thus you are starting a journey of a lifetime. Either this profession of “searching for trouble” will possess you, or you will find out, quick and soon, that it is not for you. I am betting on the first.

It used to be that journalism was a profession of content making. It still is, but that is no longer enough. Journalist now are experience makers. Everyone can tell you what happened, but only a journalist can tell how what happened will impact and affect you. You are the one who will add the “What is in it for Me” to our old trusted six friends “What, When, Where, Who, Why and How!”

So, buckle up and get ready to embark on a journey of a lifetime.

Welcome to Journalism 101 at the Meek School of Journalism and New Media. You can always reach me via e mail 24/7 at samir.husni@gmail.com

Welcome aboard!

About Samir Husni

Samir Husni, aka Mr. Magazine™, is the founder and director of the Magazine Innovation Center at the University of Mississippi. He is also Professor and Hederman Lecturer of Journalism at the School of Journalism and New Media. Dr. Husni is the author of the annual Samir Husni's Guide to New Magazines, which is now in its 28th year. He is also the author of Launch Your Own Magazine: A Guide for Succeeding in Today's Marketplace published by Hamblett House, Inc. and Selling Content: The Step-by-Step Art of Packaging Your Own Magazine, published by Kendall Hunt, Magazine Publishing in the 21st Century, published by Kendall Hunt, and co-author of Design Your Own Magazine. He has presented seminars on trends in American magazines to the editorial, advertising and sales staff of the magazine groups of the Morris Communications Company, Hearst Corp., Hachette Filipacchi Magazines, Meredith Corp., Reader's Digest Magazine, ESPN the magazine, Sail Magazine, American Airlines Publishing, the National Geographic Society, the Swedish magazine group Bonnier, the Finnish magazine group Sanoma Magazines, Southern Progress magazines, New South Publishing, Inc., the Society of Professional Journalists, the American Society of Magazine Editors, Vance Publishing Corporation, the Florida Magazine Association, The Magazine Association of Georgia, the National Society of Black Journalists, the Japanese Magazine Publishers Association, and the American Press Institute. He is "the country's leading magazine expert," according to Forbes ASAP magazine, "the nation's leading authority on new magazines," according to min:media industry newsletter; and The Chicago Tribune dubbed him "the planet's leading expert on new magazines." Dr. Husni has been interviewed by major U.S. media on subjects related to the magazine industry. He has been profiled and is regularly quoted in The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, USA Today, The Chronicle of Higher Education, and many other newspapers nationwide, as well as the major newsweeklies and a host of trade publications. He has appeared on Good Morning America, CNBC, CNN, CNNFN, PBS, and on numerous radio talk shows including National Public Radio's Morning and Weekend Editions. Dr. Husni has also served as an expert witness in several lawsuits involving major media corporations including Time Inc. and American Express Publishing among others. He has been a judge of The National Magazines Awards, The Evangelical Magazines Association, The City and Regional Magazines Association, and The Florida and Georgia Magazine Association Awards. Dr. Husni is the President and CEO of Magazine Consulting & Research, a firm specializing in new magazine launches, repositioning of established magazines, and packaging publications for better sales and presentations. Dr. Husni holds a doctorate in journalism from the University of Missouri-Columbia and a master's degree in journalism from the University of North Texas. When he is not in his office reading magazines, Dr. Husni is at the newsstands buying magazines.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hello Experience Makers!

  1. Oscar king says:

    Hey I’m a media journalism major, I am very excited to finally take a class that will effect my career. I am also happy with my class.

  2. Patricia Wiseman says:

    Hi! I never got a chance to formally introduce myself (because I’m always trying to make it to my next class on time, which is a good walking distance away!). My name is Patricia Wiseman. I am a freshmen undergraduate here at Ole Miss this year. My major is Accounting, and my minor is English. My main passion in life is writing, which is the best way to openly express myself. I especially love to write prose fiction, and one day, I hope to have a career that pertains to creating novels, short stories, and poems and effectively selling them. Also, I was a member of my journalism club at my high school during senior year, and since then, I’ve appreciated journalism a lot more, and I hope that taking this class will greatly benefit the rest of my college education as well as my future career. 🙂

  3. barose5 says:

    I have really enjoyed your class thus far! I have never had a professor keep me alive in any of my past eight o’clock classes! lol

  4. gillon91 says:

    Hello! My name is Vanessa Gillon and i am so excited about taking your class this semester! My passion since i was small was to become a the world’s best writer. Journalism is my major and I am ready to embark on this journey of becoming an experience maker!

  5. Carly Grisham says:

    Hey Dr. Husni! My name is Carly Grisham and I am a sophomore nursing major here at Ole Miss. I was extremely worried about taking journalism because I have never really had any experience with it before. However, after the first day of class I knew that I was going to be okay because you were just so much fun. I enjoy the way you entertain us as you teach…it is so much easier to sit in a class that is entertaining rather than just a plain lecture. You sure make 8 o’clocks a good way to start the day! I am looking forward to the rest of the semester, and I can’t wait to learn more about journalism and mass media!

  6. Angela Rogalski says:

    My name is Angela Rogalski and I am a junior this fall. My advisor and I realized that somehow, over the past two years, I had missed 101, and when I saw that Dr. Husni was teaching it this semester, I grabbed a spot. I try never to miss a class that he teaches. He is both inspiring and challenging. I love taking his classes. Hello to everyone here and I hope everyone has a great semester!

  7. taylorharrell says:

    Hello Dr. Husni,

    My name is Taylor Harrell and I am a sophomore in your Journalism 101 class. I know you have about 200 students in your class but I would like to find the time soon to meet with you and formally introduce myself to you. I am a journalism major with an emphasis on Public Relations. I have already taken Journalism 102 but it is fun to back track and learn some of the basics that my 102 teacher from last semester already assumed i knew. Having an 8am MWF class is going to be a struggle but i appreciate you making the class fun, entertaining, and interactive. This approach helps to keep me awake and focused. I appreciate your enthusiasm every morning in class, it makes me enjoy this course so much more. I can not wait to formally meet you and I am looking forward to learning much more about pursuing my degree in Journalism.

  8. Emily Bain Manifold says:

    Dr. Husni,
    I’d like to thank you (and Alex!!) for making this class so enjoyable! Tomorrow is our last day of class and then our one last quiz… I will be sad when the class is over. Before the semester is gone I would like to let you know that I have come to appreciate Journalists and their hard work even more because of this class. It TRULY has been an AMAZING and educational experience!
    Thank you 🙂

  9. Elizabeth Burgreen says:

    I wanted to comment to this blog and tell you and Alex that I have really enjoyed this class! I feel like it has opened my eyes to different kinds of media options that I would be interested in while pursuing a degree here. I am very interested in advertising magazines. I just wanted to thank y’all for doing such a great job with this class!

    -Elizabeth Burgreen

Leave a Reply

